Things I Love Thursday

Hi everyone! Sorry for the lack of blogs the past few weeks. It’s been madness here at school and I’m just now catching my breath.

On to the greatness!

ONE. My sister, Melody, turned me on to GoJane.com a few weeks ago. She had some really awesome shoes on and said she’d bought them from Go Jane for ridiculously cheap. So I checked it out for myself, and it’s true. Their shoes are amazing, and super cheap! I spent hours scrolling through and drooling over the masses of shoes in their online store. I have yet to purchase shoes from them (poor college kid.) so I can’t tell you how they are as far as shipping goes. Someone should try it out and let me know!

TWO. My best friend, Chaney, came to stay the weekend in Commerce with me last week and after we devoured about a million brownies (that I baked in my toaster oven in my dorm…yeah. That was an adventure.) we ended up painting our nails. She dug (is “dug” even a word?!) through my bag-o-nail polish and found this Revlon gold glitter polish I’d bought a long time ago. It looked great on her nails so I thought I’d share it with you all. Well, not ALL of you. Unless you’re a guy who likes to feel all pretty……*awkward*
Pick some up at your local Wal-Mart and give it a try!

THREE. I have this sneaking feeling that I’ve blogged about Eric Whitacre before, but I can’t find a record of it anywhere so maybe I’m just going crazy (newsflash). Well I’m going to pretend I haven’t and just continue on! Eric Whitacre is one of my favorite composers of all time; his music is incredibly moving and powerful. I’m really into dissonance (go to a piano, play a C, E, and G at the same time. Now play all those notes again but add the black key closest to the E. Boom, dissonance.) and he uses a ton of it. He’s sortof become like the Brad Pitt of the choral community. He’s amazing at what he does, and it doesn’t hurt that he’s pretty stinking handsome. I mean, look at that hair!

Here’s one of his most popular works.

MY hands down favorite piece he’s ever composed. It gives me chills. My favorite part is from 6.00 to 8.15 (seriously. amazing.). But before you listen, take a look at #4 below


FOUR. Now before you listen to this 15 minute long song which, by the way, is WELL worth your time. Seriously. It’s amazing. But before you settle in to listening, you might need a snack. Might I suggest some Peanut M&Ms? I’ve had this strange obsession with them for a few months now, and I don’t know why. I’ve never been the greatest fan of peanuts and chocolate, but there’s something about Peanut M&Ms that has me hooked! Maybe they mix crack in with the chocolate……..Nahhhh. But seriously. Why are they so delicious!?

Stay Creative,

-Shelby

Leave a Reply

